Your Browser does not support scripts

A Welcoming Faith Community Serving Warren County and the Lake Gaston Area

Parish Information and Directions

Pastor, Father John Gillespie

Father John Gillespie, pastor of Lake Gaston Catholic Church

Father John Gillespie, became pastor of Saint Joseph the Worker, in July 2014. Some previous priestly assignments include pastor of Saint Mary Basilica in Wilmington, the Newman Center at the University of North Carolina, and Saint Francis De Sales in Lumberton. Born and raised in Philadelphia, he has two brothers who also are Catholic priests. They are members of The Society of Jesus, the Jesuits. With two Jesuit brothers in the family, his own spirituality has been heavily influenced by the spiritual exercises of Saint Ignatius of Loyola.

Father John comes with a strong academic background holding an M.A. in education, an M.A. in psychology and after his seminary studies received an M.Div degree from Christ the King seminary in East Aurora, New York. Since he became a priest late in life, he has had an extensive employment experience. This includes working as a psychologist at The University of Dayton, teaching summer courses at Chestnut Hill College, and being a behavioral scientist in the Family Practice Residency Program at Saint Joseph Hospital in Reading, Pennsylvania.

Pastoral goals for the parish will focus on renovation and expanding the church building, using modern media for adult religious education, and promoting the presence of the Saint Joseph the Worker Church in the Warren County and the Lake Gaston area.

Contact Information

St. Joseph The Worker Church

Lake Gaston Catholic Church Warrenton NC

842 US Hwy 158 West Business
PO Box 934
Warrenton, NC 27589
Phone: (252) 257-5605

  • Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday and Friday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00
  • Mass Schedule:  Sunday 8:00 a.m.


  • Pastoral Council: Chair - Bruce McWhinney
  • Finance Council: Co-Chairs - Jim Sabo & Pete Moore
  • Liturgy Committee: Bruce McWhinney

People To Know...

Father John Gillespie

(252) 438-3124

Bruce McWhinney

Pastoral Council Chair
(252) 257-1151

Jim Sabo

Finance Council Co-Chair
(434) 689-2552

Pete Moore

Finance Council Co-Chair
(252) 257-4059

Bruce McWhinney

Liturgy Committee Chair
(252) 257-1151

Heidi Hogan

Faith Development
(252) 586-6828

Linda Dean

Parish Secretary
(252) 257-5605

How To Find Us...